Lifehacker U Spring Semester 2014 – Free Online Courses

Photo:  Coursera.org

Lifehacker U Spring Semester 2014 has a listing of several University Courses from around the world where you can audit an online course for free (or in some cases receive a certificate for a fee).    One of the more impressive offerings is learning coding by Harvard University ( CS50X: Introduction to Computer Science). As I have never taken an online course before, I opted to sign up for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology from the Universty of Alberta stemming back to my fascination of dinosaurs when I was a kid.   The course starts Monday, January 6, 2014.  

Due to work and life obligations it is not something I have kept up on, but with the biting cold outside and Kyle now being an adult I think I can spare 3-5 hours a week for 3 months to be brought up to date. When Kyle was little I paid $10 per person to hear a lecture by Robert Bakker, also know as “The Dinosaur Man”.   He was one of the technical advisors on the first “Jurrassic Park” movie and best known for promoting the theory that dinosaurs were warm blooded. When Kyle was in Junior High I paid $31 per person in the nose-bleed cheap seats to see Walking With Dinosaurs Arena and it was still awesome. Sign up was easy on  Coursera.org and, as I indicated above, I opted just to audit and not receive credit as this is just for fun, but it looks like you could get a certificate it starts at  around $50 donation. If you don’t dig dinos, there are several  other courses indicated along with suggestions for other sites where you might be able to find something that might not be listed – just click the hyperlink below for the article.

Lifehacker U Spring Semester 2014

Disclaimer:  I have no affiliation with Lifehacker, the University of Alberta and I am not receiving anything for this post – I am just a subscriber to Lifehacker and sharing information:)

Leave a Reply

