Meetball Mayhem

As I have tried several other recipe by Kittencal of  Kittencal’s Kitchen on Food.com, a free, online recipe sharing site (she is a founding member).

I decided to try one of her recipes in my first attempt as an adult, to make my own meatballs for our spaghetti dinner tonight.

The going joke for spaghetti is that if Kyle ever wants to taste Mom’s home cooking, all he has to do is go to the nearest Fazoli’s as we used to go every Tuesday night on Kid’s night for years, so I rarely ever made spaghetti at home and if there were meatballs, they were the frozen ones purchased from our grocer’s freezer.

Yesterday I had only intended to make a couple, but I got a great deal on 2lbs of hot sausage at Sav-A-Lot so I ended up doubling the recipe and made several adaptations.

I just used the 2 lbs of hot sausage, 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs and 4 slices of torn up bread for the bread, added 1 tsp minced onion and 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese & 1/3 shredded Italian blend for the cheese.   I scooped into balls a little larger than a golf ball but less than a baseball and ended up with 21 of them.   If I had had celery, I would have chopped up some into small pieces, probably 1/2-1 cup and put that in as well as that is how my Mom used to make them.

I only  baked 9 of them at 350 for 25 minutes, flipped the balls over (because they weren’t done) and baked for another 20 minutes and put in the fridge overnight then added to the Hunts canned sauce I doctored up and simmered for 20 minutes and they came out pretty good, although I will probably use Alfredo sauce or mushroom soup on the remaining dozen in the freezer.

In making I recalled the reason why is I don’t like my hands getting messy, and if I make them again, I am will wear plastic gloves.  It didn’t help that Kyle made comments to gross me out while mixing them either – I was a practicing vegetarian for several years.  

Marv used to get upset when Kyle was little and everyone would lose their appetite when he would say they were eating dead animals, which was true.  Being reminded that had my hands and playing with dead animals kicked in my gag reflex so it probably wasn’t mixed as well as it should have been.

I think thought they were pretty decent for my first attempt and tasted a lot like the meatloaf my Mom used to make (except for the celery missing).

The recipe is in the link below:

Kittencals Italian Melt In Your Mouth Meatballs

 

 

Leave a Reply

