“Eat This, Not That! 2012: The No-Diet Weight Loss Solution” by David Zinczeno with Matt Goulding

My son got this book for my for my birthday. I had heard of the “Eat This / Not That” in magazines before but the book is chocked full of colorful pictures and useful information on food and how to save calories by making different choices in the same types of food, whether eating out or shopping for groceries to fix meals at home and could.

The introduction has stories of 7 people who lost 40lbs or more over a period of time using the principles of the book. Some of the other chapters cover best/worst foods, what to swap out for lower calories at several popular chain restaurants for less calories and food trends for the year. There is one chapter dedicated to kid’s foods and the last chapter has some recipes.

I like that it is small enough it can fit in my purse if I want to take it with me too. The only thing I didn’t like is the tiny white print on some of the colored areas of the pages as it is very difficult to read and I wish they had stuck to black lettering.

There were several things that I was not aware of. I was surprised to learn that an Angus Mushroom & Swiss Burger at McDonalds had nearly twice the calories as one McDouble. Others are 1 TBSP of Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil has 50% less calories (45) than Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaisse (90) and soups, Healthy Choice Pot Roast has 30 more calories than Progresso Light Beef Pot Roast.

Leave a Reply

