You can still buy something for penny…a ride on Sandy the Horse at Meijer

When I was a kid I used to be able to buy a penny piece of candy at our local grocery store; these days about all it is good is paying part of a tax to avoid pennies in return to lug around.   However, if you are a parent of a young child this is probably the best deal around if you have a Meijer store near where you live.  My son loved riding on Sandy the horse when he was tot and I still enjoy watching children riding it when I am checking out at the store in a lane near the attraction.

The iconic Sandy had been a fixture in Meijer stores for over 30 years.  That is longer than they have been in our town, but a ride on Sandy has been a penny since the chain arrived in town around 20 years ago.   It so popular, Sandy even has  fan pages on   Sandy the Meijer horse and Leave a Penny on Sandy. the latter about where a cup of coins was left around Christmas time for kids to have a free ride, gratis of Santa.  I love this idea, and not just for Christmas; I think I will leave some pennies the next time I shop at Meijers to make some kid’s (and maybe even some parent’s) day.

Leave a Reply

