Beet Hummus

By: kmom14

Sep 06 2015

Tags: ,

Category: Cooking

1 Comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:COOLPIX S3100

I was inspired by a post by Chef Jamie Oliver on Youtube (below).  Tahini is expensive where I live, but after he mentioned using peanut butter instead a light bulb went offin my head as I had nearly all items in my pantry, and I always wanted to try a beet hummus, so I experimented until I came up with something that I liked.

It has a slightly sweet yet tangy taste, but you could go more savory with more garlic and hotter spices.   It was good with the pita and crackers as well with carrots and celery.  This is my first time making hummus, but not my last and don’t know that I will ever go back to store bought, but will experiment more with fresh ingredients instead of canned and mixing in other spices.

  • 1 can (15-16 oz) Beets, drained
  • 1 can (15-16 oz) Garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 tsp Paprika
  • 1/4 tsp Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp salt 4 cloves Garlic
  • 1 lime, zested and juiced
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter

Put everything in a food processor and blend; if the consistency is too thick for your liking add water a tablespoon at a time.

One comment on “Beet Hummus”

  1. im glad you like it


Leave a Reply

