Unboxing my new sewing machine

By: kmom14

Jan 07 2016

Tags: ,

Category: Sale, Shopping

1 Comment

Aperture:f/3.2
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/10 sec
Camera:COOLPIX S3100

After a lot of research and deciding what I wanted in a sewing machine I settled on this Singer 4423 Heavy Duty Extra-High Speed sewing machine.

The main reason I chose this is that it is a heavy-duty metal frame, is to be able to sew through jeans, which I have had problems with on the last two machines that I have had and hoping it will last longer than a few years.   While more bells and whistles like more stitches and buttonhole option sound great, I don’t know how often I would use them and it is just something else to go wrong.   I learned on a basic sewing machine with just a straight stitch, I usually only use a straight stitch or a zig-zag stitch and have never used an automatic buttonholer, even thought the last machine I had offers that option; I usually use just a zig zag stitch.

It has a metal frame and stainless steel bedplate, a self-threading needle with 1,100 stitches per minute for more speed and few skipped stitches,  22 built-in stitches with an automatic buttonholer.  It came with a regular foot, a button-holer foot and a zipper foot.   It has a clear drop in bobbin so you can see how much thread you have left. Also, part of the bottom comes off so it is easier  to sew cuffs and sleeves.  What comes off also holds the accessories that came with it that include the aforementioned feet, a few bobbins, a seam ripper, some needles and a few other things I am not sure they are for.

The list price was around $280, but I bought it on sale at Amazon for $126.76, but was around $68 after I used gift codes earned from MyCokeRewards, Swag Bucks and a Vitality health program through work.

The only thing I don’t like is the cheap cover – instead of a hard plastic cover, it comes with an ugly gray cover that is the same material a lower end shopping bags you get at the grocery.

One comment on “Unboxing my new sewing machine”

  1. I could not get a sewing machine to sew, never! The description of this machine sounds like how i would describe a car or a rife. 🙂


Leave a Reply

