Giant Burger and Soft Drink Float

Picture 551This float is at the Quimby Village location in Fort Wayne on Bluffton Road near Broadway Street and will likely be in several area parades over the summer.

Don Halls is a local chain of restaurants, one connected to a hotel and that location also has a bakery and as the float indicates, they have been in business for 65 years.

My sister-in-law, Missy,  favorite thing was their Greek Salad at the downtown location.    Sadly, she didn’t get to enjoy it enough as she was always working before she was killed in a car accident over 19 years ago.

Probably with their swankiest location is downtown at the Takaoka of of Japan Steakhouse where they prepare what you pick out on a grill at your table in front of you and the chefs entertain you as well as cook.   We have only been there once as it was expensive – I had two $10 vouchers that I used from paying for parking during a festival and for my steak and Kyle child’s meal the bill came up to $33 about 10 years ago.

They also have awesome cakes at “Hall’s Takes the Cake”.  A former boss had one made for my birthday one year and it was as delicious at was beautiful, but I have also heard they are expensive.

The Bluffton Road location is still there, but I have not been to it since before Kyle was born nearly 20 years ago.  I had ordered a steak well done and while it was on the outer edges, it was almost rare in the center.   While I understand things happen, what I kicked in my gag reflex is they took my steak that I had taken a bite out of and put it back on the grill and cooked  it instead of cooking a new one and I wondered how many times that might have happened before and couldn’t choke it down and have never been back to that location since.

My son used to frequent the one on Lima Road when they had impromptu car shows, but the manager felt it was not leaving enough parking spaces for their guests and the car show has moved to Liberty Diner for impromptu car shows there on Friday and Saturday nights.

Leave a comment